You’re going to need these.

It is important to have the basic tools to ease you into your project. There is nothing more exasperating than having your momentum stopped because you’re missing a thing or two.

When I started my first quilt, the only tools I had were a tiny cutting mat, 8.5” quilt ruler, rotary cutter, scissors, pins, thread and sewing needles. I began by hand sewing because I wasn’t sure if this was for me and I wasn’t going to invest on something that I wasn’t sure about. Ridiculous, right? A few years on and I have a room stocked up with quite a bit of gear. And as much fun as hand sewing was, I was pretty lucky to receive a sewing machine that Christmas. It was definitely quicker with a sewing machine!

I guess what I’m trying to say is, you can always start small, get some fat quarters and test the waters to see if this is for you.

Here are the basics that have helped me along the way:Eggquilts_suestrobel_tools

  • A good sewing machine with interchangeable foot capability.
  • ¼ inch sewing machine foot
  • Walking foot
  • Hand sewing and machine quilting needles (change needles for every new project or after 10-12 hours of use)
  • Tape measurer
  • Quilting ruler
  • Scissors
  • Seam ripper
  • Pins
  • Cotton thread
  • Basting spray
  • Masking tape
  • Self-healing cutting mat
  • Steam iron and ironing board
Leave a Reply

