Steamer Trunk Dog Bed

Summer is finally here at long last! It has been a hot and sunny couple of weeks, too hot to be sitting in the craft room piecing together a wall quilt. I haven’t abandoned the project completely but it is looking to be a slow finish.

However with that said, I have a few projects that have been sitting in the back burner for far too long. I needed outdoor space to spread out and dry weather. So this is what we ended up with! A very vintage stylish dog bed made from an old steamer trunk. I have seen this type of project on Pinterest years ago and I loved the idea of upcycling an old trunk. This trunk has travelled all the way from South Africa back in 50s/60s. I can’t trace the exact voyage route for this trunk because the stamps have either peeled off or have been painted over. There are still some around complete with custom stamps, that you can trace its route all the way back to the port of departure. Isn’t that just wonderful? A little bit of history.

Eggquilts_steamertrunk_dogbed Eggquilts_steamertrunk_dogbed_sparkyThis was my first try at upholstery. I went a little trigger happy with the stapler gun, only because it was so much fun. The fabric was bought from Martha’s Fabric. I think the dog is pretty chuffed with her new bed, no?

I did sit on it myself and I have to say, it is also pretty sturdy as a chair, although I might not lean on it completely because the trunk is pretty old and tatty and would need reinforcements if you’re thinking about making it into a chair.

All in all, the main lesson that I have learnt from making this project is to have EVERYTHING at hand. It doesn’t take long to finish the project as long as you have all the tools and materials sourced, sussed and next to you.

Leave a Reply

